Gettysburg Campaign by J.D.R Hawkins

Interview with J.D.R. Hawkins, author of the Renegade book series, which is set during the Civil War.

Gettysburg Campaign

Her new Kickstarter campaign, entitled ‘Gettysburg Campaign by J.D.R. Hawkins,’ can be found here:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/974451574/gettysburg-campaign?ref=search

What got you interested in writing about the Civil War?

I have always been interested in the Civil War, but I really didn’t know much about it in detail until I went to Gettysburg. It was the first battlefield I had ever seen, and it made such a profound impact on me that I decided to write a novel about it. However, my novel was unique, because it was written from the perspective of a typical Confederate soldier who enlists with the cavalry. And instead of joining up with a local regiment, he goes off to fight with the Army of Northern Virginia under Robert E. Lee.

Can you tell us a little bit about your Renegade series?

The first book in the “Renegade Series” is A Beckoning Hellfire, which spawned two sequels. They have yet to be published. I then went back and wrote a prequel to the series, which is entitled A Beautiful Glittering Lie. That book has just been awarded the 2013 John Esten Cooke Fiction Award.

What’s the goal for your Kickstarter?

My goal is to reach $800. I would like to use the money to film a book trailer or two for my series. I figure it would be a lot cheaper to travel to the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg event than it would to try and get reenactors on my own. The money will also help pay for my travel expenses.

What are some lessons you’ve learned from launching the Kickstarter?

It’s not as easy as it looks! Much thought goes into a campaign. Fortunately for me, my son just completed a Kickstarter campaign for a children’s book he has written, which was successful. He gave me a lot of ideas on what to say in the video and what to list for incentives.

Is there anything you’d like to add?

Only that this project is very important to me. I have wanted to make a book trailer for quite some time, but I just haven’t had the funds or the opportunity to do so. Now I have the perfect chance to make an excellent, quality trailer, and I’m hoping I can reach my goal by the end of this month. Thank you!

One thought on “Gettysburg Campaign by J.D.R Hawkins

  1. Pingback: Gettysburg Campaign by J.D.R Hawkins | JDR Hawkins

Leave a Reply

